Leamington area guide
During the 19th century, Leamington Spa experienced one of the most rapid expansions in England. Leamington became a popular spa resort attracting the wealthy and famous, and construction began of numerous Georgian townhouses to accommodate visitors, and a town hall was built in 1830.
With the spread of the townâ€™s popularity, â€˜Leamington Priorsâ€™ was renamed into â€˜Royal Leamington Spaâ€™ and granted with a â€˜Royalâ€™ prefix in 1838 by Queen Victoria, who visited the town as a Princess in 1830 and as Queen in 1858. Buildings in the town include a variety of Georgian and early Victorian architecture, and listed buildings such as the Grade II listed Lansdowne Crescent in neo-classical style, designed by William Thomas between 1835 and 1838.
Nowadays Leamington Spa is renowned for its coffee shop culture, array of shops, restaurants and vibrant night life.
The town has several parks and gardens including the Jephson Gardens, close to the Royal Pump Rooms and next to the River Leam, other parks are the Mill Gardens on the opposite bank of the river to Jephson Gardens, Victoria Park, the Royal Pump Room Gardens, Newbold Comyn, The Dell and Welshâ€™s Meadow, a nature reserve.
There are a number of schools either located within Leamington include the state secondary schools of North Leamington School, Campion School, Trinity Catholic School, and the independent schools of Arnold Lodge School, a co-educational school, Kingsley School.